In winter semester 2022/2023, KISDalumna Dr. Jennifer Schubert has started as ‘Professor of Participatory Design’ at the Faculty of Design at Augsburg University of Applied Sciences. We offer our warmest congratulations!

As a design researcher, Jennifer Schubert (Dr. phil.) explores the intersection between technology, participation and collectivity. Her research interests range from digital inclusion to globalised networks and boundary objects. In 2018, she completed her PhD at the Berlin University of the Arts (UdK) on the topic of “Civic Tools – Tools for the Social and Political Participation of Neighbourhoods”. In it, she investigated new possibilities of visual and tangible forms of participation. Since 2011, she has been working in initiative-led and community-based research projects, in rural as well as urban spaces, locally anchored with a global perspective. Most recently, she was a postdoctoral researcher and lecturer at the Free University of Bolzano/Italy in the field of Social Interaction Design. She studied design strategy, service design, design concepts at KISD (Cologne) and Parsons (New York). She taught design research modules in Dessau (MA Integrated Design/MAID), Wuppertal (MA for Strategic Product & Innovation Development) and Cologne (BA/MA Integrated Design).

Other KISDalumni who are now professors

Graduated in 2012

Prof. David Grieshammer
Professor of Computer Visualistics and Design at Hamm-Lippstadt University of Applied Sciences, appointed 2022

Graduated in 2011

Prof. Dr. Jennifer Schubert
Professor of Participatory Design at the Faculty of Design at Augsburg University of Applied Sciences, appointed 2022

Prof. Alexander Drinjakovic-Schlichtmann
Professor of Communication Design at the Westfälische Hochschule at the Institute for Journalism and Public Relations, appointed in 2022

Graduated in 2007

Prof. Dr. Tom Bieling
Professor of Design Theory at the Offenbach University of Applied Sciences,
previously held the professorship for design theory and research at the Centre for Design Research at HAW Hamburg (2019-2022), appointed 2019

Prof. Annette Diefenthaler
Professor of Design and Transdisciplinarity; Executive Director of the Munich Design Institute, appointed 2023

Graduated in 2001

Prof. Dr. Geesche Jost
Professor of Design Research at the Institute for Product and Process Design
at the Berlin University of the Arts, appointed 2011

Prof. Sven Anwar Bibi
Professor a.c. Free University of Bolzano, from 2004-2008
since 2010 Professor of Product Design at the German University of Cairo

Graduated in 2000

Prof. Wolfgang Gauss
Professor of Interactive Design, Interface Design at the FH Aachen, appointed 2015

Prof. Marie-Susann Kühr
Professor of User Experience Design, User Centered Design and Corporate Design at the Rheinische Fachhochschule, appointed 2002

Graduated in 1997

Prof. Ralf Hebecker
Professor of Games Design and Production at the Hamburg University of Applied Sciences (HAW Hamburg), appointed 2012

Prof. Oliver Wrede
Professor of Interactive Media in the Department of Design at Aachen University of Applied Sciences, appointed 2001

Prof. Karen Nennen
Professor of Interface Design, Information Design and User Experience Design at the Rheinische Fachhochschule, appointed 2014

Graduated in 1996

Prof. David Oswald
Professor of Digital Media at Bremen University of Applied Sciences, appointed 2004,
In 2011 he moved to the Berlin University of Applied Sciences to the professorship for design. In 2014 he accepted a professorship for interaction design at the Hochschule für Gestaltung Schwäbisch Gmünd.

Prof. Stephan Schwarz
Professor of Media Design and Interactive Media at RheinMain University of Applied Sciences, appointed in 2004.

Graduated in 1995

Prof. Andreas Wrede
Professor of Identity and Design at the Köln International School of Design at the TH Köln, appointed 2010

Prof. Dipl.- Des. Nicole Russi
Professor of Multimedia Design and Media Design at the Institute for Media and Photo Technology (IMP) of the Faculty of Information, Media and Electrical Engineering at TH Köln, appointed 2014