Students of the Köln International School of Design (KISD) have nominated award winners for this year’s Kölner Klopfer for the 20th time. In November, the winners will be honoured at an award ceremony that will take place for the first time on a hybrid basis.

In the 20th anniversary year, the award ceremony will be accompanied by an exhibition of the winners’ work. Since 1996, KISD students have been awarding the “Kölner Klopfer” to designers every year. The award recognises outstanding individuals or groups who, in the opinion of the student body, have rendered outstanding services to design. The selected candidates for the ”Kölner Klopfer“ are presented at a general assembly and put to the vote in a secret ballot. Among the previous award winners are: Erik Spiekermann, Axel Kufus, Droog Design, Anna Castelli Ferrieri, Motoko Ishii, John Maeda, James Auger, Heinz Bähr, Stefan Sagmeister, Ingo Maurer, Dieter Rams, Erik Kessels, R. & E. Bouroullec, Eike König, Jerszy Seymour, Sarah Illenberger, Mike Meiré and Henrik Vibskov.