In a collective workshop on the site of the former freight station Cologne-Ehrenfeld, open forms of gathering are tested in order to bring urban actors, narratives and objects into relation with each other. The focus here is on experimental construction as a method of exploration and intervention that creates new possibilities for the emergence of public spheres.

The site of the stattInsel WESTSPITZE collective, on which the building of the former railroad headquarters stands, serves as a field of experimentation. It forms the western part of the area that, after urban political disputes, is being transformed into a high-priced residential area. A new, more than 500-meter-long and nearly twelve-meter-high noise protection wall powerfully demarcates the area from the railroad embankment. The area is characterized by traffic infrastructures, economic and political networks, and operations of connection and exclusion. At the same time, initiatives for the common good with their civic engagement spark a dynamic there that eludes the logic of capitalist-focused spatial productions. For this very reason, the site offers an exciting environment for a project that calls for the development of alternative spaces for gathering and negotiating.

The following questions are particularly noteworthy here: How do cultural and artistic initiatives bring about city-changing developments? What influence do self-organized actors have on urban planning when they reprogram abandoned building structures and spaces? How can specific social practices create spaces of the in-between that become nuclei of a new urbanity and experimental fields of urban culture? What role does experimental building play here?

In the workshop, a flexible material system will be designed and structurally implemented that can be arranged into various forms of an open stage – an experimental venue for performative and discursive formats. The goal is to open the urban space in between the stattInsel WESTSPITZE for diverse actors of the urban society and to transform it into a new space for social participation.

Organized by Prof. Carolin Höfler, Mario Frank and Julian Hoffmann with Nastasja Bauknecht, Nastasia Dabringhaus, Luisa Emilie Hensel, Raphael Klug and Marco Struck from the TH Köln in collaboration with Amon Nanz, Uli Ries, Martin Schmittseifer and Fabian Wetter from stattInsel WESTSPITZE

With the kind support of Hendrik Arnold, head of the metal workshop, and Gerd Mies, head of the wood workshop of the Köln International School of Design of the TH Köln

Location: stattInsel WESTSPITZE – Am Alten Güterbahnhof, Maarweg 172, 50825 Cologne
Time: Mon., June 20 to Wed., July 06, 2022.
Presentation and get-together: Thurs., July 06, 2022, 2:00 p.m.

An event of the »Open Universities« of the TH Köln and the University of Cologne, funded by the RheinEnergie Stiftung within the context of the focus topic »Society and Digital Transformation«.

Picture: Renée Saja Harth, Former Ehrenfeld Freight Station, Cologne, 2022.

 


Details

  • Address Maarweg 172
  • City Köln
  • State / Province Nordrhein-Westfalen
  • Post Code 50825
  • Country Deutschland

Initial date
20. June 2022 - 6. July 2022

All-day

Live! 4 days 2 hours 3 minutes 43 seconds remaining

Occurences
All occurences are over.

In einem kollektiven Workshop auf dem Gelände des ehemaligen Güterbahnhofs Köln-Ehrenfeld werden offene Formen des Sichversammelns erprobt, um urbane Akteur:innen, Erzählungen und Objekte miteinander in Beziehung zu bringen. In den Fokus rückt hierbei das experimentelle Bauen als Erkundungs- und Interventionsverfahren.

Als Experimentierfeld dient das Gelände des Kollektivs stattInsel WESTSPITZE, auf dem das Gebäude der ehemaligen Bahndirektion steht. Es bildet den westlichen Teil jenes Areals, das nach stadtpolitischen Auseinandersetzungen in ein hochpreisiges Wohngebiet überführt wird. Mächtig grenzt eine neue, über 500 Meter lange und an die zwölf Meter hohe Schallschutzmauer das Gebiet zum Bahndamm hin ab. Das Gelände ist durch verkehrstechnische Infrastrukturen, durch ökonomische und politische Netzwerke sowie Operationen des Anschließens und Ausschließens geprägt. Zugleich entfachen dort gemeinwohlorientierte Initiativen mit ihrem bürgerschaftlichen Engagement eine Dynamik, die sich der Logik kapitalistisch ausgerichteter Raumproduktionen entzieht. Gerade deswegen bietet der Ort eine spannungsreiche Umgebung für ein Projekt, das dazu auffordert, alternative Räume des Versammelns und Verhandelns zu entwickeln.

Folgenden Fragen gilt hierbei das Interesse: Wie bringen kulturelle und künstlerischen Initiativen stadtverändernde Entwicklungen hervor? Welchen Einfluss üben selbstorganisierte Akteur:innen auf die Stadtplanung aus, wenn sie brachliegende Baustrukturen und Flächen neu programmieren? Wie können spezifische soziale Praxen Räume des Dazwischen schaffen, die zu Keimzellen einer neuen Urbanität und Experimentierfeldern der Stadtkultur werden? Welche Rolle spielt hierbei das experimentelle Bauen?

Im Rahmen des Workshops wird ein flexibles Materialsystem entworfen und baulich umgesetzt, das sich zu verschiedenen Formen einer open stage – einer experimentellen Spielstätte für performative und diskursive Formate – anordnen lässt. Ziel ist es, den urbanen Zwischenraum der stattInsel WESTSPITZE für diverse Akteur:innen der Stadtgesellschaft zu öffnen und neue Möglichkeiten für das Entstehen von Öffentlichkeiten zu schaffen.

Organisation: Nastasja Bauknecht, Nastasia Dabringhaus, Luisa Emilie Hensel, Raphael Klug und Marco Struck in Kooperation mit Amon Nanz, Uli Ries, Martin Schmittseifer und Fabian Wetter von der stattInsel WESTSPITZE sowie Prof. Dr. Carolin Höfler, Mario Frank und Julian Hoffmann von der TH Köln

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Hendrik Arnold, Leiter der Metallwerkstatt, und Gerd Mies, Leiter der Holzbauwerkstatt der Köln International School of Design der TH Köln

Ort: stattInsel WESTSPITZE – Am Alten Güterbahnhof, Maarweg 172, 50825 Köln
Zeit: Mo., 20. Juni bis Do., 30. Juni 2022
Präsentation & Get-together: Do., 30. Juni 2022, 15.00 Uhr

Eine Veranstaltung der »Open Universities« der TH Köln und der Universität zu Köln, gefördert von der RheinEnergie Stiftung im Rahmen des Schwerpunktthemas »Gesellschaft und digitale Transformation«.

Bild: Renée Saja Harth, Ehemaliger Güterbahnhof Ehrenfeld, Köln, 2022.


Details

  • Address Maarweg 172
  • City Köln
  • State / Province Nordrhein-Westfalen
  • Post Code 50825
  • Country Deutschland

Initial date
20. June 2022 - 30. June 2022

All-day

Live! 4 days 1 hour 2 minutes 19 seconds remaining

Next Recurrence
20. June 2022