Lecturer(s)

Prof. Dr. Carolin Höfler

Guest Lecturer(s)

Mario Frank, Konstantin Hehl & Julian Hoffmann

Area of Expertise

Design Theory and Research

Participants

This exhibition on Ebertplatz by the research center »Real-Time City« of the TH Köln explores socio-spatial processes and practices in the Corona crisis. From July, 16 to 26, 2020, installations and interventions reflecting the effects of the pandemic on communication and action in public space will be exhibited on the square and in the project space of the City of Cologne.

When people gather in public, they appear in streets or on squares, in churches, theatres, parliaments, or lecture halls. They gather to demonstrate, pray, play, watch, govern, or learn together. A central element of coming together in public space is the physical presence of actors. Gathered bodies stage plural sovereignty per se. The spatial arrangement they form is indisputable and their bodily masses demand recognition.

Since the Corona crisis, collective social situations have been avoided worldwide. The reorganization of social life in order to flatten the curve profoundly effects spatial structures of the city. Especially urban public spaces that usually are easily accessible and frequently visited may appear obsolete in times of the pandemic. Buildings, public places, cities, and entire states are sealed off, and global mobility is massively reduced while the virus spreads at the same time.

The Ebertplatz in Cologne will exemplify the effects of the pandemic on communication and action in social spaces. Time- and media-based works as well as urban interventions and performances deal with the reorganization of the public ground, the choreography of distance, the expansion of surveillance, the viral spread of humor vs. paranoia as well as the auditory experience of pandemic silence and self-soothing strategies in parks and gardens. They measure the spatial situation in the »Corona Society« and show perspectives for a future after the crisis.

»Assemble | Disassemble« is a cooperation project with the Urban Space Management of the City of Cologne as part of the temporary use of Ebertplatz. It is accompanied by the research center »Real-Time City« of the TH Köln, which deals with emerging urban environments and communication contexts in times of digitality.

Organisation
Prof. Dr. Carolin Höfler with Mario Frank, Konstantin Hehl and Julian Hoffmann, Köln International School of Design der TH Köln

Project authors
Marcelo Andreguetti, Max Brückner, Johannes Förster, Mario Frank, Konstantin Hehl, Ayako Matsuda, Christian Müller, Christopher Müller, Ruth Müller, Marlene Neumann, Zoë Rush, David Sieverding, Martin Sistig

With the friendly support of Gerd Mies, head of the wood workshop at KISD.

Location
Project Space, Ebertplatzpassage, 50668 Köln

Opening times
Thur – Sun, July, 16 – 26, 2020, daily, 3 – 8 p.m.

Project authors on site
Fri – Sun, July, 17 – 19, 2020, 4 – 7 p.m.
Fri – Sun, July, 24 – 26, 2020,, 4 – 7 p.m.

Performances on the Ebertplatz
Max Brückner
3D Sound Experience
Fri – Sun, July, 17 –19, 2020, 4 & 6 p.m.
Fri – Sun, July, 24 – 26, 2020, 4 & 6 p.m.

Johannes Förster, Christian Müller, Ruth Müller & Marlene Neumann
Social Distancing via Noise
Fri – Sat, July 17 – 18, 2020, 5 p.m.
Fri, July 24, 2020, 5 p.m.

The meeting point for the performances is in front of the project space in the Ebertplatzpassage. Please pay attention to hygiene measures and keep a distance.

Photo: Mario Frank & Konstantin Hehl, 2020

Betreuung durch

Prof. Dr. Carolin Höfler

Guest Lecturer(s)

Mario Frank, Konstantin Hehl & Julian Hoffmann

Teilnehmer

Mit einer Ausstellung am Ebertplatz erkundet die Forschungsstelle »Echtzeitstadt« der TH Köln sozioräumliche Prozesse und Praktiken in der Coronakrise. Vom 16. bis 26. Juli 2020 werden auf dem Platz und im Projektraum der Stadt Köln Installationen und Interventionen gezeigt, welche die Wirkungen der Pandemie auf das Kommunizieren und Handeln im öffentlichen Raum reflektieren.

Wenn sich Menschen öffentlich versammeln, erscheinen sie auf Straßen oder Plätzen, in Kirchen, Theatern, Parlamenten oder Hörsälen. Sie versammeln sich, um gemeinsam zu demonstrieren, zu beten, zu spielen, zuzuschauen, zu regieren oder zu lernen. Ein zentraler Moment des Zusammenkommens im öffentlichen Raum ist die physische Anwesenheit der Akteur_innen. Versammelte Körper stellen per se eine Inszenierung pluraler Souveränität dar. Sie bilden eine für alle sichtbare räumliche Anordnung und fordern Anerkennung.

Seit der Corona-Krise werden weltweit kollektive soziale Situationen vermieden. Die Neuorganisation des gesellschaftlichen Lebens zum Schutz vor dem Virus hat tiefgreifende Folgen für die räumlichen Strukturen der Stadt. In Zeiten der Pandemie erscheinen genau jene urbanen Räume obsolet, die frei zugänglich sind und von vielen besucht werden können. Gebäude, öffentliche Plätze, Städte und ganze Staaten werden abgeriegelt, und die globale Mobilität massiv reduziert, während sich das Virus gleichzeitig ausbreitet.

Am Beispiel des Ebertplatzes in Köln werden die Wirkungen der Pandemie auf das Kommunizieren und Handeln in gesellschaftlichen Räumen untersucht. Zeit- und medienbasierte Arbeiten sowie urbane Interventionen und Performances befassen sich mit der Neuordnung des öffentlichen Grundes, der Choreografie des Abstandes, der Ausweitung der Überwachung, der viralen Verbreitung von Komik und Paranoia sowie der auditiven Erfahrung in pandemischer Stille und der Selbstberuhigung in Parks und Gärten. Sie vermessen die räumliche Situation in der »Corona-Gesellschaft« und zeigen Perspektiven für eine Zukunft nach der Krise auf.

»Assemble | Disassemble« ist ein Kooperationsprojekt mit dem Stadtraummanagement der Stadt Köln im Rahmen der Zwischennutzung Ebertplatz. Es wird von der Forschungsstelle »Echtzeitstadt« der TH Köln begleitet, die sich mit neu bildenden urbanen Umwelten und Kommunikationszusammenhängen in Zeiten der Digitalität auseinandersetzt.

Organisation
Prof. Dr. Carolin Höfler mit Mario Frank, Konstantin Hehl und Julian Hoffmann, Köln International School of Design der TH Köln

Projektautor_innen
Marcelo Andreguetti, Max Brückner, Johannes Förster, Mario Frank, Konstantin Hehl, Ayako Matsuda, Christian Müller, Christopher Müller, Ruth Müller, Marlene Neumann, Zoë Rush, David Sieverding, Martin Sistig

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Gerd Mies, Leiter der Holzbauwerkstatt der KISD.

Ort
Projektraum, Ebertplatzpassage, 50668 Köln

Öffnungszeiten
Do, 16. Juli – So, 26. Juli, täglich 15 – 20 Uhr

Projektautor_innen vor Ort
Fr, 17. Juli – So, 19. Juli 2020, 16 – 19 Uhr
Fr, 24. Juli – So, 26. Juli, 2020, 16 – 19 Uhr

Performances auf dem Ebertplatz
Max Brückner
3D Sound Experience
Fr, 17. Juli – So, 19. Juli 2020, 16 & 18 Uhr
Fr, 24. Juli – So, 26. Juli 2020, 16 & 18 Uhr

Johannes Förster, Christian Müller, Ruth Müller & Marlene Neumann
Social Distancing via Noise
Fr, 17. Juli & Sa., 18. Juli 2020, 17 Uhr
Fr, 24. Juli 2020, 17 Uhr

Der Treffpunkt für die Performances ist jeweils vor dem Ausstellungsraum. Bitte achten Sie auf die Hygiene- und Verhaltensempfehlungen vor Ort.

Foto: Mario Frank & Konstantin Hehl, 2020