Lecturer(s)

Prof. Dr. Carolin Höfler

Guest Lecturer(s)

Simon Meienberg

Area of Expertise

Design Theory and Research

Participants

In the course »Design as a Practice of Correspondence« supervised by Simon Meienberg, master students investigate urban environments beyond anthropocentric determinations. What does it mean to inhabit the city when »animals, materials, devices, atmospheres, and other things« are perceived as equal actors that »affect us in what we do as much as we affect their existence in the world« (García Molina / Weidle 2019)?

The starting point for the creative examination was the concept of correspondence, as recently explained by the British anthropologist Tim Ingold. »To correspond with the world, in short, is not to describe it, or to represent it, but to answer to it« (Gunn / Donovan 2016). Ingold’s approach engages in fashioning ongoing-processual, open-ended, conversational, inclusive, and future-oriented worlds (Ingold 2019). His ecological anthropology investigates the relations of human and non-human species, as well as organic and inorganic materials, how they affect each other and thus achieve agency (Ingold 2016).

With Ingold’s reflections in mind, the Master students went into search for forms of correspondence in urban environments. They explored relational structures and interactions between urban actors of all kinds in order to develop new approaches for design practice and production of space. In doing so, they took the approach of producing knowledge through design, using imagination, speculation, and improvisation as methods for creating hybrid mappings.

The course »Design as a Practice of Correspondence« by Simon Meienberg was part of the Methods Lab of the Master’s program »Integrated Design«, organized by the teaching and research area »Design Theory and Research« (Prof. Dr. Carolin Höfler). The course taught the basics of participant observation as a research method and introduced design practices of knowledge generation.

 

Literature:

García Molina, A., and Weidle, F. (2019, January 21). Correspondence. Society for Cultural Anthropology, https://culanth.org/fieldsights/series/correspondence (accessed July 7, 2021).

Gunn, W., and Donovan, J., eds. (2016). Design and anthropology. London: Routledge, https://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/e/9781315576572.

Ingold, T. (2019). Art and Anthropology For a Sustainable World. Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute 25 (4), 659–675, https://doi.org/10.1111/1467-9655.13125.

Ingold, T. (2016). An Ecology of Materials. An Interview by Petra Löffler and Florian Sprenger. Zeitschrift für Medienwissenschaft 14, https://zfmedienwissenschaft.de/online/ecology-materials (accessed July 7, 2021).

Images:

Jiye Kim, Meet Us Along the Rhine River; Tomás Ignacio Corvalan Azocar, Hidden Communities: Places of Gathering in the Digital-Analogue; Jihee Hwang, Achtung Freihalten; Marina Helena Müller, Largo Zumbi dos Palmares: Space as a White Board; Sally Loutfy, Designing for Circumstance.

Betreuung durch

Prof. Dr. Carolin Höfler

Guest Lecturer(s)

Simon Meienberg

Teilnehmer

Im Rahmen des Kurses »Design as a Practice of Correspondence« von Simon Meienberg untersuchen Masterstudierende urbane Umgebungen jenseits anthropozentrischer Bestimmungen. Was bedeutet es, die Stadt zu bewohnen, wenn »Tiere, Materialien, Geräte, Atmosphären und andere Dinge« als gleichwertige Akteur:innen wahrgenommen werden, die »uns in unserem Handeln ebenso beeinflussen wie wir ihre Existenz in dieser Welt« (García Molina / Weidle 2019)?

Ausgangspunkt der gestalterischen Auseinandersetzung war das Konzept der Korrespondenz, wie es der britische Anthropologe Tim Ingold jüngst erläuterte. »Mit der Welt zu korrespondieren heißt, kurz gesagt, sie nicht zu beschreiben oder zu repräsentieren, sondern auf sie zu antworten« (Gunn / Donovan 2016). Ingolds Ansatz zielt auf die Gestaltung von fortlaufenden, prozessualen, ergebnisoffenen, dialogischen, inklusiven und zukunftsorientierten Welten (Ingold 2019). Seine ökologische Anthropologie untersucht das Zusammenwirken von menschlichen und nicht-menschlichen Spezies sowie von organischen und anorganischen Materialien, die sich gegenseitig affizieren und entsprechend selbst über Handlungsmacht verfügen (Ingold 2016).

Mit Blick auf Ingolds Überlegungen begaben sich die Studierenden auf die Suche nach Formen der Korrespondenz in urbanen Umgebungen. Sie erforschten relationale Strukturen und Interaktionen zwischen Stadtakteur:innen jedweder Art. um daraus neue Ansätze für die Gestaltungspraxis und Raumproduktion zu entwickeln. Hierbei verfolgten sie den Ansatz, Wissen durch Gestaltung hervorzubringen, indem sie Imagination, Spekulation und Improvisation als Methoden zur Erstellung hybrider Mappings einsetzten.

Bei dem Kurs »Design as a Practice of Correspondence« von Simon Meienberg handelte es sich um ein Lehrangebot im Methoden-Lab des Masterstudiengangs »Integrated Design«, das vom Lehr- und Forschungsgebiet »Designtheorie und -forschung« (Prof. Dr. Carolin Höfler) organisiert wird. Der Kurs vermittelte Grundlagen der teilnehmenden Beobachtung als Forschungsmethode und führte in gestalterische Praktiken der Wissenserzeugung ein.

 

Literatur:

García Molina, A., and Weidle, F. (2019, January 21). Correspondence. Society for Cultural Anthropology, https://culanth.org/fieldsights/series/correspondence (accessed July 7, 2021).

Gunn, W., and Donovan, J., eds. (2016). Design and anthropology. London: Routledge, https://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/e/9781315576572.

Ingold, T. (2019). Art and Anthropology For a Sustainable World. Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute, 25 (4), 659–675, https://doi.org/10.1111/1467-9655.13125.

Ingold, T. (2016). An Ecology of Materials. An Interview by Petra Löffler and Florian Sprenger. Zeitschrift für Medienwissenschaft 14, https://zfmedienwissenschaft.de/online/ecology-materials (accessed July 7, 2021).

Bilder:

Jiye Kim, Meet Us Along the Rhine River; Tomás Ignacio Corvalan Azocar, Hidden Communities: Places of Gathering in the Digital-Analogue; Jihee Hwang, Achtung Freihalten; Marina Helena Müller, Largo Zumbi dos Palmares: Space as a White Board; Sally Loutfy, Designing for Circumstance.