Participants

With the dawn of the 21st century, information technology developments are influencing the relationships between bodies, environments, and interior worlds in previously unknown ways. The project »Beyond the Senses« explores their consequences for the imagination of urban scenarios, and how they shape the perception of space and time.

The new relationships and effects are examined exemplarily through the experience of Venice. The spaces of Venice are constituted in the bodily experience of fluidity. They are spaces in which world and imagination, reality and fiction overlap in a complex way. The project takes up this observation and explores it in designs of media environments, which were exhibited at the GAA Foundation’s Palazzo Mora in Venice in 2018 on the occasion of the Architecture Biennale. On view were an interactive installation and audiovisual works that reflect the experience of the urban environment in a sensory network of body, structure, light, water, and sound.

Professors
Prof. Dr. Carolin Höfler

Collaborators
Felix Ahn, Victor Carlier, Oliver Köneke and Conrad Weise

Participants
Michael Barion, Victor Carlier, Marc Eisenmann, Corinna Duschl, Johannes Growe, Noelle Kalo, Dmitrii Kuznetsov, Andreas Mass, Maja Metzner, Shirley Meyer, Jennifer Pilawa, Luna Smolka, Chan Sperle, Hendrik Vohs, Tim Walta, Conrad Weise, Tamara Zgraggen

Project Partners
GAA – Global Art Affairs Foundation; European Cultural Centre, Venice and the Research Cluster »Echtzeitstadt | Real-Time City« at TH Köln 

Funded by
GAA – Global Art Affairs Foundation; European Cultural Centre, Venice and the Ministry of Culture and Science of the German State of North Rhine–Westphalia

Duration
17.04. – 23.11.2018 (16th International Architecture Exhibition Venice)

Image: Exhibition view »Beyond the Senses« by Dmitrii Kuznetsov

Teilnehmer

Mit Beginn des 21. Jahrhunderts beeinflussen informationstechnologische Entwicklungen die Beziehungen zwischen Körpern, Umgebungen und Innenwelten in bisher unbekannter Weise. Das Projekt »Beyond the Senses« geht der Frage nach, welche Folgen dies für die Wahrnehmung von urbanen Umgebungen hat und wie sich das Raum- und Zeitempfinden verändert.

Die neuen Verhältnisse und Wirkungen werden exemplarisch anhand der Erfahrung von Venedig untersucht. Die Räume Venedigs konstituieren sich im körperlichen Erleben des Fließend-Flüssigen. Es sind Räume, in denen sich Welt und Vorstellungswelt, Realität und Fiktion auf komplexe Weise überblenden. Das Projekt greift diese Beobachtung auf und erforscht sie in Entwürfen medialer Environments, die 2018 anlässlich der 16. Architekturbiennale in Venedig im Palazzo Mora der GAA Foundation ausgestellt wurden. Zu erleben waren eine interaktive Installation und audiovisuelle Arbeiten, welche die Erfahrung der urbanen Umgebung in einem sensorischen Netzwerk aus Körper, Struktur, Licht, Wasser und Sound reflektieren.

Professor:innen
Prof. Dr. Carolin Höfler

Mitarbeiter:innen
Felix Ahn, Victor Carlier, Oliver Köneke und Conrad Weise

Teilnehmer:innen
Michael Barion, Victor Carlier, Marc Eisenmann, Corinna Duschl, Johannes Growe, Noelle Kalo, Dmitrii Kuznetsov, Andreas Mass, Maja Metzner, Shirley Meyer, Jennifer Pilawa, Luna Smolka, Chan Sperle, Hendrik Vohs, Tim Walta, Conrad Weise, Tamara Zgraggen

Projektpartner:innen
GAA – Global Art Affairs Foundation; European Cultural Centre, Venice und die Forschungsstelle der TH Köln »Echtzeitstadt | Real-Time City« 

Gefördert durch
GAA – Global Art Affairs Foundation; European Cultural Centre, Venice und Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen

Laufzeit
17.04. – 23.11.2018 (16th International Architecture Exhibition Venice)

Bild: Ausstellungsansicht »Beyond the Senses« von Dmitrii Kuznetsov