Surgical robots such as the Da-Vinci-XI® system from Intuitive Surgical enable surgeons to perform complex minimally invasive operations at a control console. The interdisciplinary research project »Robotic Operations« is the first to investigate the effects of these systems on the working conditions of surgeons.

High-resolution stereoscopic images are streamed in real time from inside the patient’s body to a binocular at the control console. Control arms on the console record the hand movements of the surgeon and transmit them to the instrument attachments in the operating field. In this project innovative measurement and analysis methods are used to record the the surgeons’ postures and ergonomic requirements together with their stress level and the noise level in the operating room. The subsequent synchronization of the data and a comparison with standardized open surgery will be used to draw conclusions about the workload of surgeons using teleoperation systems.

Professors
Prof. Dr. Carolin Höfler, TH Köln and Prof. Dr. Christiane Bruns, University Hospital Cologne

Other Involved Scientists
Priv.-Doz. Dr. med. Hans F. Fuchs, Dr. med. Dolores Thea Müller, Dr. med. Benjamin Babic, Dr. med. Rabi Datta, Dr. med. Justus Toader, Dr. med. Leandra Börner-Valdez, Christian Storms, Alissa Reisewitz, Julia Poggemeier, University Hospital Cologne and Juliane Ahn, TH Köln

Project Partners
University Hospital Cologne, Department and Polyclinic for General, Visceral, Tumor and Transplant Surgery

Funded by
RheinEnergie Foundation

Duration
01.01.2022 – 31.07.2023

Press Release TH Köln & University of Cologne
»Forschungsteam untersucht Arbeitsbedingungen an OP-Robotern«

Bild: »Screen Spaces. An Interdisciplinary Research Project About The Perception of Space Using Surgical Robots« by Juliane Ahn

Mithilfe von Chirurgierobotern wie das Da-Vinci-XI®-System der Firma Intuitive Surgical führen Chirurg:innen komplexe minimal-invasive Operationen an einer Steuerkonsole durch. Das interdisziplinäre Forschungsprojekt untersucht erstmals die Auswirkungen dieser Systeme auf die Arbeitsbedingungen von Chirurg:innen.

Hochauflösende stereoskopische Bilder werden in Echtzeit aus dem Inneren des Patient:innenkörpers auf ein Binokular an der Steuerkonsole gestreamt. Kontrollarme an der Konsole erfassen die Handbewegungen der Operierenden und übertragen sie an die Instrumentenvorsätze im Operationsfeld. Unter Einsatz innovativer Mess- und Analyseverfahren werden in diesem Projekt die Körperhaltungen der Operierenden und die ergonomischen Erfordernisse erfasst und mit Daten zu Stresslevel und Lautstärke im Operationssaal zusammengeführt. Aus der anschließenden Synchronisierung der Daten und einem Vergleich zur standardisierten offenen Chirurgie sollen Rückschlüsse auf die Arbeitsbelastungen von Chirurg:innen unter Einsatz von Teleoperationssystemen gezogen werden.

Professor:innen
Prof. Dr. Carolin Höfler, TH Köln und Prof. Dr. Christiane Bruns, Uniklinik Köln

Weitere beteiligte Wissenschaftler:innen
Priv.-Doz. Dr. med. Hans F. Fuchs, Dr. med. Dolores Thea Müller, Dr. med. Benjamin Babic, Dr. med. Rabi Datta, Dr. med. Justus Toader, Dr. med. Leandra Börner-Valdez, Christian Storms, Alissa Reisewitz, Julia Poggemeier, Uniklinik Köln und Felix Ahn, TH Köln

Projektpartner:innen
Uniklinik Köln, Klinik und Poliklinik für Allgemein-, Viszeral-, Tumor- und Transplantationschirurgie

Gefördert durch
RheinEnergie Stiftung

Laufzeit
01.01.2022 – 31.07.2023

Presse TH Köln & Universität zu Köln
»Forschungsteam untersucht Arbeitsbedingungen an OP-Robotern«

Bild: »Screen Spaces. An Interdisciplinary Research Project About The Perception of Space Using Surgical Robots« von Felix Ahn